Rugby World Cup 2023: England Squad, with Owen Farrell as Captain

The England rugby team is getting bigger. Steve Borthwick now has 41 players to work with, and they will start gathering in Richmond on July 2nd for their first full squad meeting leading up to the Rugby World Cup.

The group of players who were in the Premiership finals, including Tom Curry, Elliot Daly, Ben Earl, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Jamie George, Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, Max Malins, Bevan Rodd, and Manu Tuilagi, have completed their mandatory rest period. They will soon join the rest of the international players, including French champion Jack Willis.

There are some new faces in the squad as well. Theo Dan, a 23-year-old hooker from Saracens, has been called up, and Tom Willis, Jack’s brother, who has been playing for Bordeaux this season, is also part of the team.”

Luke Cowan-Dickie is out of the squad due to a shoulder injury. However, Ollie Chessum, Ollie Lawrence, Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola, and Jack Walker, who are currently injured, may still be considered for the final selection.

Zach Mercer, a Montpellier number 8 set to return to England for the Rugby World Cup, is notably absent from the group, and it seems the head coach is not inclined to include him.

The final 33-man squad will be chosen on August 7th. In the meantime, Owen Farrell has been named the captain once again. Ellis Genge and Courtney Lawes will serve as vice-captains.

England Squad Rugby World Cup 2023: 

The England squad for the 2023 Rugby World Cup is shaping up to be a formidable force, with the experienced Owen Farrell leading the team as captain. As the tournament draws near, the English squad has been carefully selected, comprising a mix of seasoned veterans and promising young talents.

Owen Farrell, with an impressive 106 caps to his name, is set to provide the squad with his leadership, experience, and exceptional skills both as a fly-half and inside center. His ability to read the game, orchestrate the attack, and make crucial kicks under pressure makes him a pivotal figure for England’s campaign in France.

In the forward pack, England boasts a potent combination of power and agility. Maro Itoje and Courtney Lawes, with their nearly 100 caps each, bring unmatched physicality and work ethic to the second row. The back row is bolstered by players like Tom Curry, Sam Underhill, and Lewis Ludlam, known for their relentless work rate in defense and effectiveness at the breakdown.

The front row sees the likes of Jamie George, Ellis Genge, and Kyle Sinckler, who have been instrumental in England’s set-piece dominance. Joe Marler, with his experience and scrummaging expertise, adds further depth to the front row.

In the backs, the squad features an exciting mix of playmakers and finishers. George Ford, known for his tactical acumen and precise kicking game, complements Farrell’s skills. Max Malins and Marcus Smith bring flair and creativity to the backline, while Jonny May, Anthony Watson, and Manu Tuilagi provide the finishing power out wide.

The squad’s depth is further highlighted by the inclusion of uncapped talents like Tom Willis and Cadan Murley, who have shown great promise in domestic competitions.

As England prepares for the Rugby World Cup 2023, the squad under Owen Farrell’s leadership aims to showcase their prowess on the global stage. With a well-rounded team and a blend of experience and youth, England is poised to be a contender for the coveted title, ready to take on the world’s best in what promises to be an enthralling tournament in France.

Here are some of the England players who are part of the 41-player squad preparing for the Rugby World Cup:

  • Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 6 caps)
  • Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 100 caps)
  • Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 45 caps)
  • Theo Dan (Saracens, uncapped)
  • Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 14 caps)
  • Ben Earl (Saracens, 15 caps)
  • Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 48 caps)
  • Jamie George (Saracens, 77 caps)
  • Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks, 19 caps)


  • Maro Itoje (Saracens, 67 caps)
  • Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 97 caps)
  • Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 19 caps)
  • Joe Marler (Harlequins, 79 caps)
  • George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
  • Tom Pearson (London Irish, uncapped)
  • Val Rapava-Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)
  • David Ribbans (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
  • Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)
  • Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 61 caps)
  • Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 25 caps)
  • Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 29 caps)
  • Jack Willis (Toulouse, 10 caps)
  • Tom Willis (Bordeaux Begles, uncapped)


  • Henry Arundell (London Irish, 7 caps)
  • Danny Care (Harlequins, 87 caps)
  • Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)
  • Elliot Daly (Saracens, 57 caps)
  • Owen Farrell (Saracens, 106 caps)
  • George Ford (Sale Sharks, 81 caps)
  • Max Malins (Saracens, 18 caps)
  • Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 15 caps)
  • Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 72 caps)
  • Cadan Murley (Harlequins, uncapped)
  • Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers, 4 caps)
  • Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 56 caps)
  • Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 21 caps)
  • Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 22 caps)
  • Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 51 caps)
  • Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 12 caps)
  • Anthony Watson (Leicester Tigers, 55 caps)
  • Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 122 caps)